Department of Biological Sciences Welcomes 7 New Faculty Members

newfac2

The Department of Biological Sciences Welcomes 7 New Assistant Professors

Seven new faculty members joined the department - 2 last fall (Nicholas Barber and Sherine Elsawa), and 5 this fall. Their interests include ecology, evolution, behavior, and conservation; immunology and cancer biology; comparative medicine; anatomy and paleontology; microbial ecology; bioinformatics and evolutionary genomics. Take a look at their faculty Web pages to learn more about their background and research.

Photo of Nicolas A. Barber
Nicholas A. Barber

Community Ecology
Office/Lab: (815) 753-7811
nbarber@niu.edu

Photo of Professor Sherine Elsawa
Sherine Elsawa

Immunology/Cancer Biology
Office (815) 753-7839
Lab: (815) 743-3203
selsawa@niu.edu

Photo of Professor Holly Jones
Holly Jones

Conservation biology; restoration ecology
Office: (815) 753-7527
Lab: (815)753-7809
hjones@niu.edu

Photo of Dr. Corrina Kashuba
Corinna Kashuba
Office (815) 753-8099
ckashuba@niu.edu

Photo of Professor Karen E. Samonds
Karen E. Samonds

Anatomy and Paleontology
Office (815) 753-3201
ksamonds@niu.edu

Photo of Assistant Professor Wes Swingley

Wesley Swingley
Microbial Ecology
Office: (815) 753-7835
Lab: (815) 753-7812
wswingley@niu.edu

Photo of Assistant Professor Yanbin Yin

Yanbin Yin
Bioinformatics and Evolutionary Genomics
Office (815) 753-8963
Lab: (815) 753-3405
yyin@niu.edu